SLASH's Official Fan Site


SLASH: Album Concept and Guests

(Updated July 2010)

Velvet Revolver was together for five years. SLASH say this was his toughest five years because of Scott Weiland. He said his own music was being "squelched". "The band is all about its fans and its music, and Scott Weiland isn't committed to either. ...his encreasingly erratic onstage behavior and personal problems have forced [the rest of us] to move on." This was in April 2008. The remaining four looked for a singer, but they didn't find one. In the meantime, SLASH was writing a lot of music and thinking about the concept of producing an album with guests on every track. SLASH himself is known for playing on other musicians' tracks, so he had a lot of friends he could call. Also, he was very interested in getting some new rock musicians to sing and play on his new album. The album was christened SLASH, and it became one of the most highly anticipated rock albums in a long time. SLASH, SLASH's first solo release, is a collection of new songs written in partnership with some of the most notable and legendary artists in music. After first enlisting the services of producing partner Eric Valentine (Queens of Stone Age, The All-American Rejects), SLASH compiled a premier rhythm section in bassist Chris Chaney (Jane's Addiction) and drummer Josh Freese (Nine Inch Nails). The album features an all-star roster of guest musicians. SLASH handled the majority of arranging and song writing duties and handpicked each guest artist to collaborate with on rounding out each track. The list of track titles, guests and recording times are as follows:

 1. Ghost (featuring Ian Astbury/Izzy Stradlin)    3:35
 2. Crucify the Dead (featuring Ozzy Osbourne)     4:03
 3. Beautiful Dangerous (featuring Fergie)         4:38
 4. Back from Cali (featuring Myles Kennedy)       3:36
 5. Promise (featuring Chris Cornell)              4:40
 6. By the Sword (featuring Andrew Stockdale)      4:51
 7. Gotten (featuring Adam Levine)                 5:03
 8. Doctor Alibi (featuring Lemmy Kilmeister)      3:10
 9. Watch This (featuring Dave Grohl/Duff McKagan) 3:52
10. I Hold On (featuring Kid Rock)                 4:18
11. Nothing To Say (featuring M. Shadows)          5:25
12. Starlight (featuring Myles Kennedy)            5:25
13. Saint is a Sinner Too (featuring Rocco DeLuca) 3:28
14. We're All Gonna Die (featuring Iggy Pop)       4:31

The first single off the album is "By the Sword" featuring vocals from Wolfmother frontman Andrew Stockdale.

On the Japanese edition, there is an additional song: "Sahara" by Koshi Inaba. "Sahara" was a single for Japan. The song is sung in Japanese. Also on this single is "Paradise City" featuring Cypress Hill and Fergie.

On the UK album version, there is a bonus track, "Baby Can't Drive" by Alice Cooper, Nicole Scherzinger and Flea and featuring Steven Adler on drums.

To Return to the SLASH Official Fan Site's SLASH Solo Menu,
Click on the SLASH album cover: